Regular Board Meeting Highlights, October 29, 2021

Board, Board Meeting

Friday, October 29, 2021 - The Board of Trustees is pleased to share with all education stakeholders the highlights of our recent Board meeting held virtually on Friday, October 29, 2021. The adopted minutes will be available on our website following the next Regular Board meeting.


Organizational Meeting

  • In its first meeting since the recent municipal election, The Board hosted it's Organizational Meeting for the 2021-2022 school year. The Board elected Ward 2 trustee Lorraine Stewart as Board Chair and Trustee Anne Montgomery as Vice-Chair.
  • The Board appointed members as representatives to Committees for the 2021-2022 school year effective immediately. Trustees will for committees as follows:
    • Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA) Zone 2/3 - Eric Cameron, Anne Montgomery
    • Alberta Teachers' Association (ATA) Labour Relations - Eric Cameron, Paul McCann, Lorraine Stewart
    • Audit Committee - Eric Cameron, Anne Montgomery, Jill Osborne
    • Benefit Plan Advisory Committee - Lorraine Stewart
    • Central Alberta Association of Municipal and School Employees (CAAMSE) Labour Relations - Aimee Hennig, Paul McCann, Lorraine Stewart
    • Council of School Councils (COSC) - Aimee Hennig
    • International Union of Operating Engineers (IUOE) Labour Relations - Aimee Hennig, Paul McCann, Lorraine Stewart
    • Public School Boards' Association of Alberta (PSBAA) Council - Lorraine Stewart, Aileen Wagner
    • Rural Caucus of Alberta School Boards (RCASB) - Aimee Hennig, Aileen Wagner
    • Spruce Grove Joint Use Committee - Jill Osborne
    • Stony Plain Joint Use Committee - Paul McCann
    • Teacher Board Advisory Committee (TBAC) - Paul McCann, Jill Osborne, Aileen Wagner
    • Teachers' Employer Bargaining Association Representative (TEBA) - Anne Montgomery
  • The Board approved the Board Remuneration for the 2021-2022 school year.
  • The Board approved the 2021 - 2022 Meeting Dates.
  • The Board approved the 2021-2022 Board Annual Work Plan.

Regular Board Meeting

  • The Board approved the Modular Submission Recommendation.
  • The Board received as information the 2021-2022 Enrolment Report. The September 29th enrolment count for the current school year is 11,944 for the Division. This is an increase of 427 students or 3.7% over the 2020-2021 school year. By community, the enrolment changes compared to the prior year were:
    • Community A (Duffield, Entwistle, Tomahawk, Wabamun) - increased by 66 students or 11.6%
    • Community B (Forest Green, High Park, École Meridian Heights, Stony Plain Central, Connections for Learning, Muir Lake, Blueberry) - increased by 267 students or 5.6%
    • Community C (Brookwood, École Broxton Park, Copperhaven, Greystone, Millgrove, Prescott Learning Centre, Spruce Grove Composite High School, Woodhaven, Graminia, Parkland Village) - increased by 188 students or 3.2%
    • Outreach enrolments decreased by 94 students or 25.5%
  • The Board received as information the Audit Committee report.
  • The Board received as information the Benefit Committee report.
  • The Board received as information the Governance & Planning Session report.

The next Regular Board meeting will be held on Tuesday, November 30, 2021 at 9:00 a.m., (Board meetings will be hosted virtually until further notice.) 

Recent News

Strong Families: Feb 20

Parkland School Division is proud to partner with the Alberta Parenting For The Future Association to present another FREE…

Information Session, Strong Families
Feb 6