

MEMORANDUM

March 11, 2025

Regular Board Meeting

TO Board of Trustees

FROM Trustee Eric Cameron, Trustee Montgomery and Trustee Wagner (The Parkland

School Division Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA) Zone 2/3 Edwin Parr

Selection Committee)

ORIGINATOR Mark Francis, Deputy Superintendent

RESOURCE The Parkland School Division ASBA Zone 2/3 Edwin Parr Selection Committee

GOVERNANCE POLICY Board Policy 2: Role of the Board

Board Policy 8: Board Committees

Board Policy 12: Role of the Superintendent

ADDITIONAL REFERENCE Board Annual Work Plan

SUBJECT EDWIN PARR NOMINATION

PURPOSE

For approval. Recommendation is required.

RECOMMENDATION

That the Board of Trustees recognizes Jennifer Jones from École Meridian Heights School, and Joshua Wiens from Memorial Composite High School, as the two Parkland School Division Edwin Parr nominees. And further, that the Board submits Joshua Wiens' nomination to the Alberta School Boards Association Zone 2/3 Edwin Parr Selection Committee, as presented at the Regular Meeting of March 11, 2025.

BACKGROUND

Each year the Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA) honours, six outstanding first-year teachers, one from each of the six zones identified by ASBA, with the Edwin Parr Teacher Award. School boards may nominate any first-year K-12 teacher who has taught in an Alberta school jurisdiction which is a member of the ASBA. As part of the Board Annual Work Plan and the selection process, each year three Trustees volunteer to sit on the Parkland School Division ASBA Zone 2/3 Edwin Parr Selection Committee. This recommendation is in support of this Board responsibility and process.

REPORT SUMMARY

In 1964, the Alberta School Trustees' Association established the Edwin Parr Teacher Award to remember the long and meritorious service of past President Edwin Parr. Nominees of the award are selected based on his/her School Board Evaluation using the Teacher Quality Standards (TQS) competencies:

- TQS1 Fostering Effective Relationships
- TQS2 Engaging in Career-Long Learning
- TQS3 Demonstrating a Professional Body of Knowledge
- TQS4 Establishing Inclusive Learning Environments
- TQS5 Applying Foundational Knowledge about First Nations, Metis and Inuit
- TQS6 Adhering to Legal Frameworks and Policies

Our schools were invited to identify a first-year teacher to serve as Parkland's nomination to the ASBA's Zone 2/3. Two nominations for outstanding First-Year Teacher were received:

Jennifer Jones teaches Grade 7-9 Math and Science at École Meridian Heights School.

Joshua Wiens teaches Grade 10-12 Fabrication at Memorial Composite High School.

Nominees at the Zone level, will be interviewed by the ASBA Zone 2/3 Edwin Parr Selection Committee.

The Parkland School Division ASBA Zone 2/3 Edwin Parr selection committee would be pleased to respond to any questions.

MF:kz