

# **MEMORANDUM**

June 18, 2024

**Organizational Meeting** 

TO Board of Trustees

**FROM** Shauna Boyce, Superintendent

**ORIGINATOR** Scott McFadyen, Associate Superintendent

**RESOURCE** Scott McFadyen, Associate Superintendent

**GOVERNANCE POLICY** Board Policy 2: Role of the Board

**Board Policy 7: Board Operations** 

Board Policy 8: Board Committees and Representation

Board Policy 12: Role of the Superintendent

**ADDITIONAL REFERENCE** BP 7: Organizational Meeting

**Board Executive Work Plan** 

SUBJECT BLANKET RESOLUTION FOR COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS 2024-2025

#### **PURPOSE**

For approval. A recommendation is required.

### **RECOMMENDATION**

That the Board of Trustees appoints the following members as representatives to Committees for the 2024-2025 school year, effective September 1, 2024, and as presented at the Organizational Meeting of June 18, 2024.

## **BACKGROUND**

The Board of Trustees is responsible for creating standing or ad hoc committees of the Board as are deemed appropriate, and appointing members and Board representatives to the various Boards or committees of organizations or agencies where the Board has regular representation. This recommendation is in support of this responsibility.

#### REPORT SUMMARY

After consultation with the Board in their interest and evaluation of the representation needed for committees, the Board of Trustees has compiled a blanket resolution that details the representation for each committee the Board is charged with conducting.

1. Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA), Zone 2/3 (two (2) representatives)
Trustee Aileen Wagner (Representative), Trustee Jill Osborne (Alternate)

2. Alberta Teachers' Association (ATA) Labour Relations (three (3) representatives)
Trustee Jill Osborne, Trustee Aileen Wagner, Trustee Lorraine Stewart (Alternate)

Audit Committee (three (3) representatives)
 Trustee Eric Cameron, Trustee Anne Montgomery, Trustee Aimee Hennig

4. Benefit Plan Advisory Committee (one (1) representative)

Trustee Paul McCann

5. Canadian Union of Public Employees (CUPE) Labour Relations (three (3) representatives)
Trustee Aileen Wagner, Trustee Lorraine Stewart, Trustee Paul McCann (Alternate)

**6. Council of School Councils (COSC)** (one (1) representative)

Trustee Paul McCann

7. International Union of Operating Engineers (IUOE) Labour Relations (three (3) representatives)
Trustee Aimee Hennig, Trustee Paul McCann, Trustee Lorraine Stewart (Alternate)

**8.** Public School Boards' Association of Alberta (PSBAA) Council (two (2) representatives) Trustee Eric Cameron (Representative), Trustee Aimee Hennig (Alternate)

**9.** Rural Caucus of Alberta School Boards (one (1) representative)
Trustee Anne Montgomery

**10.** Spruce Grove Joint Use Governing Committee (one (1) representative)

**Trustee Anne Montgomery** 

**11. Stony Plain Joint Use Committee** (one (1) representative)

Trustee Paul McCann

**12. Teacher Board Advisory Committee** (three (3) representatives)

Trustee Jill Osborne, Trustee Eric Cameron, Trustee Paul McCann

13.	Teachers'	' Em	ployer	Bargaini	ng Associ	ation (TEB	A) Represent	tative	(one (1)	represe	ntative)
	Trustee Lo	orrai	ne Stev	vart							

**14.** Ad Hoc Committee: Edwin Parr Selection Committee (three (3) representatives)

Trustee Aileen Wagner, Trustee Eric Cameron, Trustee Anne Montgomery

SM:kz