

MINUTES OF THE COUNCIL OF SCHOOL COUNCILS MEETING HELD VIRTUALLY ON THURSDAY MARCH 11, 2021

ATTENDANCE:

Broxton Park: Wing Witharana Brookwood: Michelle Tokard Copperhaven: Sean Rogers

Duffield: Dianne Jewell (Principal)
Forest Green School: Nealle Dickson (Principal)

Graminia: Amber Darragh
Millgrove: Anna Marie Jackson

Linda Madge-Arkinstall (Principal)

Muir Lake: Misty Flynn
Prescott Learning Centre: Leigh Maxwell
Parkland Village: Lindsay Kuelken

Parkland School Division: Lorraine Stewart (Trustee, Board Chair)

Anne Montgomery (Trustee)

Scott Johnston (Associate Superintendent) Roxanne Genereux (Recording Secretary)

Spruce Grove Composite High: Brenda Cryer Stony Plain Central: Krystle Hoogendorn

Tomahawk: Fran Bell (Principal)

Woodhaven Middle School: Lei Gryshik

Ashley Southworth Chris Shaw (Principal)

Association of Council

of School (ASCA): Richard Haggarty (Board Member)

- 1. **Call to Order:** Chair Gryshik called the meeting to order at 7:02 p.m.
- 2. Welcome and Introductions
- 3. Approval of Agenda:

COSC 09-21 Moved by Ms. Cryer that the Council of School Councils (COSC) members accept the agenda as presented.

CARRIED

4. Approval of COSC Minutes:

Amendment to the minute's fix spelling from "Cyr" to "Cryer"

COSC 10-21 Moved by Ms. Wing, that the COSC members approve the amended minutes.

CARRIED

5. Positive Impacts at your School -Forest Green

Principal Dickson with Forest Green completed a presentation regarding positive changes at the Forest green school, which consisted of a poster contest for Land Acknowledgement which recognizes the historical significance and contribution of Canada's Indigenous People and their culture.

A Grade 4 student of Forest Green school won the poster contest for the specific age category.

A copy of each winning artwork has been displayed as Parkland School Divisions Centre of Education.

6. Alberta School Councils' Association (ASCA) – Resolutions

Chair Gryshik and Mr. Haggarty discussed the importance of ASCA and how having a representative from each school vote on the resolutions is an opportunity to have your voice heard.

Mr. Haggarty provided information to the COSC members regarding the Annual General Meeting.

AGM Registration (Registration ends April 16, 2021@5pm MST)/Meeting will be held on April 23-25, 2021:

https://www.albertaschoolcouncils.ca/about/annual-conference

Mr. Haggarty reviewed the ASCA resolutions with COSC members and provided information regarding registration, voting credentials and proxies.

P21-01	Continued Support and Advancement of Technology Funding to Support
	all Levels of Learning Throughout Alberta Schools
P21-02	Acknowledgment of COSC/DSC in the Alberta Education Act
P21-03	Restore PUF Funding to Alberta Schools
P21-04	Transportation – Maximum Time Limit Students can be on the Bus
P21-05	Renewal of Alberta Curriculum
	https://www.alberta.ca/curriculum-development.aspx
P21-06	Addressing Barriers to Student-centered Public Education
P21-07	Respect for ASCA's Bylaws, Values, and Members
P21-08	Education Stakeholder Organizations Financial and Governance
	Accountability
P21-09	Equal Opportunity of Access to All Public Schools
P21-10	Achieving Universal Public Education
P21-11	Allocating Public Funds to Public Education

Resolutions:

https://www.albertaschoolcouncils.ca/public/download/files/173828

Credential Voting Form- to be able to vote you must have a voting credential https://www.albertaschoolcouncils.ca/public/download/files/173978

Proxy Voting Form – Proxies to be submitted by April 16, 2021 online.

https://www.albertaschoolcouncils.ca/public/download/files/173979

If you have any questions regarding ASCA contact Richard Haggarty @ <u>r.haggarty.asca@gmail.com</u> or Brenda Cryer @ <u>sgchs.scchair@psd70.ab.ca</u>

Mr. Haggarty and Associate Superintendent Johnston answered questions from COSC members and closed the conversation.

7. Items for Future Agenda

7.1. Tomahawk & Stony Plain Central positive impact presentation – May 6, 2021 COSC Meeting lgryshik@hotmail.com

8. Adjournment

Chair Gryshik adjourned the meeting at 8:52 p.m.

NEXT MEETING: May 6, 2021 @ 7:00p.m.